Friday, November 12, 2010


Meeting in progress

The Assessment Committee of the Tan Sri Muhyiddin Mohd Yassin Best Thesis Award which was chaired by ISDEV Director Professor Muhammad Syukri Salleh on Wednesday 10 November 2010 has decided on the winners of the Award for both the Master and Phd Theses.

For the first time since the Award was introduced, there is a winner for the Master Best Thesis Award this year, apart from the PhD winner. They will be announced at an Award Ceremony scheduled to be held either in the middle of December or early January in Kuala Lumpur, depending on the suitability of the Deputy Prime Minister's date. The Deputy Prime Minister himself will present the prizes to the winners, consisting of a certificate each and a total of RM10,000 and RM15,000 for Master and PhD Theses winners respectively.

The decision on the winners was based on the assessments by 63 assessors, who are lecturers of various universities in Malaysia. Their assessments showed an encouraging increase in the quality of the theses nominated, with the winner's mark reaching 4.8, only 0.2 more for the full mark of 5. The nominations come from within and outside Malaysia, by individuals, theses supervisors and awarding degree institutions, totalling 24 PhD theses and 14 Master theses altogether.

The Tan Sri Muhyiddin Mohd Yassin Best Thesis Award has indeed been able to attract high quality Master and PhD Islamic related theses, proving the excellence of those Malaysians producing them.

The nomination for 2011 is now opened and the deadline for the submission of the Master and PhD theses is 31 May 2011. For further details, see

Members of the Assessment Committee

No comments: