Tuesday, October 6, 2015


Full house at C23 Social Sciences Conference Room
The first ISDEV Monthly Graduate Supervision for this 2015/2016 Academic Sessions  took place on Friday, 2nd October 2015 at C23 Social Sciences Conference Room, Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM). It was actually the first experience for MISDEV'15 (ISDEV Postgraduate by Mixed-Mode) students and the newly registered RISDEV (ISDEV Postgraduate by Research Mode) students.
Professor Dr. Muhammad Syukri Salleh delivering the 'tarbiyyah' in his full focus
At 9.00 am sharp the graduate supervision started with the recitation of the ummul kitab Al-Fatihah and the recitation in one voice of Asma Ul Husna. ISDEV Director, Professor Dr. Muhammad Syukri Salleh then delivered his tarbiyyah on “Berjuang dalam Kebahagiaan”. 
Mr. Ahmad Sofwan Nathan Abdullah sharing his expertise on writing Literature Reviews and Abstracts
The programme then continued with the Monthly Graduate Supervision on "Writing Literature Reviews and Abstracts: A Critical Approach" by Mr. Ahmad Sofwan Nathan Abdullah, who is a Language Lecturer at the School of Languages, Literacies and Translation, USM. He led this session by providing a detailed explanation on the technical aspects and terms that are required and should be borne in mind at all times for those who were keen to write academically in the English Language. 

To gauge the understanding of his lecture, he gave some on-the-spot exercises for ISDEV members to practice. ISDEV members are eager and in full enthusiasm to ensure they grasp the concept and terms explained that day so that they could get a clearer understanding of the new knowledge in writing literature reviews and abstracts. The programme went well with lively questions and answer sessions that transpired throughout his lecture.
Listening attentively with utmost concentration towards Mr. Ahmad Sofian's explanations
Also present that day were ISDEV Acting Deputy Director, Dr. Fadzila Azni Ahmad who also served as Chairperson for the entire programme, ISDEV Senior lecturers Dr. Shahir Akram Hassan, Dr. Mohd Syakir Mohd Rosdi, Dr. Wan Norhaniza Wan Hasan, Dr. Mohd Shukri Hanapi, Dr. Azrin Ibrahim as well as administrative staff.

No comments: